

Settlement – Any form of human dwelling, from the smallest house to the largest city Physical Feature – Natural features in/on the Earth's surface Human feature - Features created from human actions e.g. building Trade – The exchange of goods, money or services between countries or regions Region – An area of land with common features – physical or human

# Díd you know ...?

There are 44 countries in Europe and a few of them are transcontinental, this means they are considered to be a part of more than one continent.

Southern Europe Southern Europe is the southern subregion of Europe. It includes the countries of Albania, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy, the Republic of Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, and Vatican City (15 countries).

#### Western Europe Western Europe comprises of countries covering the western portion of the continent. Western Europe includes the countries of Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, and Switzerland. (9 countries)

### **Northern Europe** Northern Europe covers the northern portion of Europe. The Northern European countries are Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland,

Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden, and the United Kingdom (10 countries).

European Regions

#### Eastern Europe

Although Eastern Europe covers the eastern portion of Europe, there is no consensus on the exact area it covers. According to the UN, the Eastern European countries are Belarus, Bulgaria, Czechia, Hungary, Poland, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, and Ukraine. (10 countries)

Albania	Lithuania
Andorra	Luxembourg
Austria	Macedonia
Belanus	Malta
Belgium	Moldova
Bosnia and	Moraco
Herzegovina	
Bulgaria	Montenegro
Croatia	Netherlands
Czech Republic	Norway
Denmark	Poland
Estonia	Portugal
Finland	Romania
France	Russia
Germany	San Marino
Greece	Serbia
Holy See	Slovakia
Hungary	Slovenia
Iceland	Spain
Ireland	Sweden
Italy	Switzerland
Latvia	Ukraine
Liechtenstein	United Kingdom

## Capital Cities

A capital city is a city or town that functions as the government centre of a country. The three capital cities that we will be exploring in detail are:







## Don't get confused!

The European Union is a group of countries whose governments work together. It's a bit like a club. To join you have to agree to follow the rules and in return, you get certain benefits. Each country has to pay money to be a member. They mostly do this through taxes.

